Vertical Blue Bars

The Fort Dodge Area Symphony has had a very successful Young Artists program since 1966, where young artists from across our State compete for music scholarships and the opportunity to perform as featured soloist with our Orchestra. As of our 2017-2018 season, we have had the pleasure of sharing the concert stage with 199 Young Artist soloists.

The winners of the 2017-2018 Young Artists Competition were:

Joanna Kim, Cello/Elgar, Cello Concerto (Mvt. I)
Michael Banwarth, Piano/Schumann, Piano Concerto (Mvt. I)
Elizabeth Shoemaker, Violin/Conus, Violin Concerto
Renee Ried, Flute/Doppler, Hungarian Fantasty Pastorale

The Young Artist winners receive music scholarships through funding from the estate of Eva Paterson.

Our 2018-2019 Youth Artist Competition will take place on Sat, Jan 19, 2019 (Snow Date: Jan 26). Detailed information regarding this year's competition can be below. Audition Rules Audition Rules (PDF) and Audition Form (PDF)